Leaving Your Comfortzone

I think a lot of us don’t think that we have a comfortzone but in reality we do but just don’t think about it. It can be hard to step out of it when you’re in there. To step out of it is one way to grow as a person and to learn a lot about yourself. It’s a way to challenge yourself. Doesn’t always have to be big steps.

I have been single for a few years and haven’t even thought about dating because I been to busy starting my company and working a lot. I haven’t even been very social. What I noticed is that when you been single for a while you get comfortable. If someone asks you out its easier to say no because then you have to think about this and you have to do this and you’re just to busy to go. So you rather stay home.

Then it happened, I was talking to this guy I only talked to online and on video. Suddenly he says, why not come over after work and have a glass of wine? In my mind I started to come up with som many excuses. It was late. I’m not going to have time to get ready and change clothes because it’s already late. I can’t show up to someone like this. I have to work tomorrow. I just want to go home and put on my pyjamas and sit on the sofa. I mean we haven’t met in real life. Well you know how it is, we can find so many excuses. Then I started thinking, well if I don’t go there what will I do? I will not do anything and I will be totally alone. If I don’t do it now will I ever do it? Will I ever take a step outside my comfortzone?

So I went there and had an amazing time. It was just as comfortable as it was talking on video. And I learned a lot about myself from that one little thing. Doesn’t mean this was a date and that we are taking it further, it was just a meeting without any expectations. Exactly what I needed to just take that step. Maybe that’s why I felt so comfortable because it was just casual, nothing more or nothing less but it meant a lot to me. I will forever be grateful for this man and for what he did for me without even knowing it. When I went to work the morning after I felt so alive and so happy. That really got me thinking that to challenge ourselves means to challenge us in all areas. I have had so much focus on where I am mentally when it comes to my business and working. Then it has been easy. But socially I haven’t done very well. So talking a step outside your comfortzone is good but be sure to do it when it comes to all areas of your life. Don’t get stuck like me with just the focus on business and work that you forget about the rest.

I went to see him again, and again he got me to take yet another step outside. And this is what I have missed about being me, taking chances. So say yes to that someone who is asking you out, or that friend who wants to meet for coffee. The more you challenge yourself, the happier you will get.

Leave a comment